Federal Financial Aid Programs (Title IV)

General Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for Title IV assistance, an applicant must meet the following general eligibility requirements:

  1. Be enrolled or accepted for enrollment

  2. Be a matriculated student

  3. Be in an eligible program

  4. Be a U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen

  5. Be registered with the Selective Service System and sign a Statement of Registration Status (for males between the ages of 18-25)

  6. Have a high school diploma or GED, pass an approved ability to benefit test (ATB), enroll in a school that participates in an approved state process, or complete his or her state’s requirements applicable to home schooling

  7. Maintain satisfactory academic progress

  8. Meet enrollment status requirements

  9. Not be enrolled concurrently in an elementary or secondary school

  10. Not be in default on a Title IV Student Loan borrowed for attendance at any institution

  11. Not have borrowed in excess of Title IV Loan limits

  12. Not owe a repayment on a Title IV Grant for attendance at any institution